» «
1988-89 MBB Team Selected for SHU Hall of Fame

Former Head Coach P.J. Carlesimo and the 1988-89 men's basketball team to be inducted into the Seton Hall Athletics Hall of Fame on June 18

April 3, 2014

2014 Hall of Fame Sponsorship FormGet Acrobat Reader

SOUTH ORANGE, N.J. - The Seton Hall Athletic Department proudly announced the 1988-89 men's basketball team has been selected for induction into the Athletics Hall of Fame. To recognize the silver anniversary of the Pirates run to the Final Four and appearance in the National Championship Game, all players, coaches and managers associated with the team will be honored at the annual Seton Hall Athletics Hall of Fame Dinner on Wednesday, June 18 inside Walsh Gymnasium.

Cocktail hour begins at 6 p.m. followed by dinner and the formal induction ceremony at 7 p.m. Individual tickets can be purchased for $250 or reserve an entire table of 10 for $2,500. Sponsorship opportunities are also available ranging from $2,500 to $10,000.

"It is a true honor to celebrate one of the finest moments in Seton Hall Athletics history, as well as for the University, by welcoming this group into our Hall of Fame," said Director of Athletics Patrick Lyons. "It is difficult to overstate the impact this team had on the University and surrounding community. Their run through the NCAA Tournament is still regarded as one the most incredible in the history of an event that has built its legacy on such stories, and resonates with alumni and fans across the nation to this day."

Led by head coach P.J. Carlesimo, the Pirates captivated the college basketball world and put Seton Hall in the national spotlight with their historic journey to the national title game. The 1988-89 team established itself as a legitimate contender well before March Madness began as The Hall kicked off the campaign with 13 straight wins, which included season opening victories over Utah, Kentucky and Kansas to take the Great Alaska Shootout Championship back to South Orange.

The Hall went on to match a program record 31-wins in 1988-89 as the Pirates made their debut in the Final Four in Seattle, marching their way to the grandest stage in college basketball. In only the program's second NCAA Tournament appearance, the Pirates rolled in the First & Second rounds knocking off Southwest Missouri State and Evansville to secure a spot in the Sweet 16 in Denver. Seton Hall punched its ticket to the Kingdome with double-digit victories over perennial power Indiana and UNLV, capturing the NCAA West Regional Championship.

Arguably, one of the most remarkable performances by a Seton Hall team came in the National Semifinal against Duke before a capacity crowd of 39,187. The resilient Pirates battled all the way back from an 18-point deficit to steamroll the Blue Devils 95-78 on April 1, 1989 which sent The Hall on to the National Championship Game versus Michigan. 

"The collective accomplishments of the 1988-89 team represent a landmark moment in a storied history of men's basketball that dates back over a century and unquestionably helped elevate the program and the Seton Hall name to new heights. Many of those who have passed through The Hall in the years since are indebted to this group and with this well-deserved honor, we hope to repay them," said Lyons.

Seton Hall will recognize the 14-member 1988-89 roster which includes current Seton Hall Athletics Hall of Famers John Morton (Class of 1997) and Ramon Ramos (Class of 2006). Also featured will be Andrew Gaze, the Most Outstanding Player of the 1989 West Regional, Daryll Walker, Gerald Greene, Frantz Volcy, Michael Cooper, Anthony Avent, Khyiem Long, Pookey Wigington, Nick Katsikis, Trevor Crowley, Rene Monteserin and Jose Rebimbas.

Former Athletic Director Larry Keating, as well as assistant coaches John Carroll, Rod Baker, Tom Sullivan and Bruce Hamburger will be part of the induction ceremony. Eight team managers will also be honored; Anthony Chaves '91, Bob Duffy '88, MAE '93, Chris Crowell '89, Clark Holle '90, Dave Flood '89, MA '95, Felix Roman '92, Lou La Forgia '90 and Wayne Brooks '90.

To reserve your spot for the 2014 Seton Hall Athletics Hall of Fame Dinner contact Bryan Felt in the Pirate Blue Office at 973-275-6445. For more information on sponsorship opportunities click here.